MOKB Sun King Concert Series


Kentucky Nightmare

Sat, May 4, 2013

Doors: 7:00 pm / Show: 8:45 pm

Do317 Lounge


Tickets Available at the Door

This event is 21 and over

Tickets available at Do317 Lounge!

Are we moving? Each moment inevitably becomes a relic
of the past. The future appears as a destination
within an infinite number of halfway points we may never reach. Will we ever experience time existing in it’s true form? We may discover at any moment, the future and past caving in on itself. All at once. Leaving in it’s wake an inexplicable reality where one is confronted with his future former self. In CHAPPO’s world, the concept of time is twisted hopelessly out of focus. The band explore the abstract nature of time and the experience it has on the perception of reality in their sophomore album Future Former Self
CHAPPO was born in the East Village of New York in 2009 and in a few short years has created an enthusiastic and rambunctious following. Splitting the diff erence between the guitar driven psychedelia of 60′s west coast rock and the spiritual witch doctor moon shine of Dr. John, they regularly turn their live show into nothing short of spectacle. After releasing a
pair of EP’s Plastique Universe and Plastique Universe II: Pisces Princess in 2010 and 2011, they signed with Majordomo records to release their full length debut Moonwater in 2012. CHAPPO will be releasing their second LP, Future Former Self, on Votiv
Music, set to release Spring of 2015.
Kentucky Nightmare
Kentucky Nightmare
Kentucky Nightmare is the brainchild of Simon Philip Moore. Though the band has been through many lineup changes, the goal has always been the same: to provide honest, melodic rock and roll music that presents as many different views of the human experience as possible.

Kentucky Nightmare's first show was in August of 2004, opening for the Vegetables, Mock Orange, and the M's as part of Bloomingtonfest. The band's original lineup was Moore on guitar and vocals, Evan Luke Farrell on bass and backing vocals, and Benjamin Cartha Fowler on drums. This lineup lasted for about two years before Evan left the band to join Oakland, CA-based Rogue Wave. During this time, the band self-recorded and released *There's Vampires In Them Hills!*, a driving, bluesy collage of dark, tongue-in-cheek insights into the plight of a helpless romantic that is no longer in print.

After a brief hiatus, Evan was replaced by David J Woodruff on guitar and vocals and Karen R Jensen on bass and vocals. Kentucky Nightmare flourished during this time, winning third place in a Bloomington, IN Battle Of The Bands, and recording *Take Her Favour* with the incredible Mike Bridavsky at the old Russian Recording during the Spring and Summer of 2007. This album was self-released and was a great success in the Bloomington area, and the band was subsequently signed to Indianapolis-based Standard Recording Co., who then re-released *Take Her Favour*. As first Ben Fowler, then David Woodruff, and then Karen Jensen left the band, the band nonetheless continued touring vigilantly, picking up drummer Tyler Damon, and adding Bernard Kincius first to fill David's shoes on guitar and vocals, and then Karen's on bass and vocals.

After about a year and a half of many tours, the band needed a breather, and began rehearsing anew with Tyler Damon on drums, and Bernard Kincius on bass and backing vocals. This trio recorded the forthcoming *Where Are You Now?* with the wonderful James Bauman behind the boards at his Master Kontrol Audio. Just as tracking was wrapping up for this album, the band parted ways with Standard Recording Co., and Bernard Kincius left the band.

Currently, the band consists of Moore on guitar and vocals, Damon on drums, and Greg Simpson on bass. They are rocking harder than ever, and are eager to release *Where Are You Now?* to the world.
Venue Information:
Do317 Lounge
1043 Virginia Ave #215
Murphy Arts Center
Indianapolis, IN, 46203